Myanmar

The Longest Civil War in the World

Everything began when Burmese soldiers opened fire on Lu Lu Awng and her family. It happened at three in the morning, the twelve-year-old girl remembers well. She is sitting on her pink blanket with her hands folded on her lap. Colorful animals decorate the pajama pants she is wearing. There is a little pink chest in front of her bed in which she keeps her belongings. On a stool near the top of her bed there is a pile of schoolbooks, which she has carefully stacked there. It has been two years now that Lu Lu Awng hasn’t lived in her homeland, Kachin, which is currently shook with violence, but surrounded by rice fields and papaya plants in a dormitory at the rural border of Myanmars largest city, Yangon.

Read more...

How Plan International is Helping the Forgotten People in Myanmar

Many of the most vulnerable children in Myanmar live in refugee camps in Kachin and Rakhine State. Plan International supports them and their families by offering early child care, health care and crisis preparation. As part of this, Plan International trains volunteers to accompanying children up to the age of three and helps families plant enough food to secure a healthy lifestyle.

  • Twelve-year-old Lu Lu Awng was forced to leave her home in Kachin to the north of Myanmar. Her biggest wish is to be reunited with her parents as soon as possible.

  • During conflicts such as the one in Myanmar, children are exposed to particular dangers. Plan International is working to systematically strengthen child protection mechanisms.

    Photo: © Kaung Htet for Plan International

  • With funds from the European Union, Plan International is providing thousands of children in the Kachin region in the north of Myanmar with access to education and psychosocial care.

    Photo: © Kaung Htet for Plan International

  • Nearly 4,500 children are now being taught in classrooms equipped with new desks and chairs.

    Photo: © Kaung Htet for Plan International

  • Before the beginning of the project, children were also lacking access to sanitary facilities. To improve hygiene, 26 hand-washing stations have been set up.

    Photo: © Kaung Htet for Plan International

  • Teachers and volunteers offer students lessons on hygiene issues. This helps reduce frequent diarrheal diseases – one of the most prevalent development constraints for children in poor countries.

    Photo: © Kaung Htet for Plan International

  • In the region Kachin, which is affected by continuous conflicts, ten child-friendly rooms have been created to allow children to act upon their natural impulse to play. This fosters their cognitive development and boosts their confidence.

    Photo: © Kaung Htet for Plan International

  • In the “Girls Club”, girls can talk about gender-specific questions. Their brothers and parents are also sensitized to women’s role in society.

    Photo: © Kaung Htet for Plan International

Background of the Forgotten Humanitarian Crisis in Myanmar

After decades of fighting for democracy and nearly half a century of military dictatorship, what was previously known as Burma installed its first – at least in part – civilian government in April 2016. Ever since the putsch of 1962, the land so full of resources and previously well developed was increasingly run down by the military until it became one of the poorest countries on earth. A brutal junta oppressed its people, and destroyed the economic, educational and health care system. Despite the overwhelming victory of the National League for Democracy (NLD) in the first free elections in November 2015, the government’s ability to act remains restricted: The constitution cannot be altered without consent by the generals, and currently saves seats for the military in the majority of ministries. Since the NLD has no leverage over the army, its hands remain tied when it comes to the civil war that has been raging for decades in the multinational state. The military has been oppressing civil society demanding more autonomy rights since the end of British colonial rule. Circumstances are made worse by the persisting battles between the military and armed wings of ethnic minorities.

Read more...

Myanmar

Der längste Bürgerkrieg der Welt

Alles begann damit, dass burmesische Soldaten auf Lu Lu Awng und ihre Familie schossen. Um 3 Uhr morgens war das, erinnert sich das zwölfjährige Mädchen. Sie sitzt auf ihrer rosafarbenen Bettdecke, die Hände im Schoß gefaltet. Auf der Schlafanzughose, die sie trägt, tummeln sich bunte Tiere. Vor ihrem Bett steht eine pinke Plastiktruhe, in der sie ihre Habseligkeiten verwahrt, auf einem Schemel neben dem Kopfende stapeln sich Schulhefte, die sie fein säuberlich dort platziert hat. Seit zwei Jahren lebt Lu Lu Awng nicht mehr in ihrer vom Konflikt geschüttelten Heimat Kachin, sondern umgeben von Reisfeldern und Papayapflanzen in einem Wohnheim der Kirche am ländlichen Rande von Myanmars größter Stadt Yangon.

weiterlesen...

So hilft Plan International den vergessenen Menschen in Myanmar

Viele der schutzlosesten Kinder Myanmars leben in den Flüchtlingscamps in Kachin und Rakhine. Plan International unterstützt sie und ihre Familien durch Angebote zur frühkindlichen Förderung, zur gesundheitlichen Versorgung und Katastrophenvorsorge. So bildet Plan International unter anderem Freiwillige aus, die Kinder bis zu einem Alter von drei Jahren betreuen und hilft Familien, ausreichend Nahrungsmittel für eine gesunde Lebensweise anzubauen.

  • Die zwölfjährige Lu Lu Awng musste ihre Heimat Kachin im Norden von Myanmar verlassen. Sie wünscht sich, möglichst schnell wieder mit ihren Eltern zusammen zu sein.

  • Während Konflikten wie dem im Myanmar sind Kinder besonderen Gefahren ausgesetzt. Plan International setzt sich deshalb für die systematische Stärkung von Mechanismen des Kinderschutzes ein.

    (Foto: © Kaung Htet for Plan International)

  • Mit Mitteln der Europäischen Union versorgt Plan International tausende Kinder in der Region Kachin im Norden Myanmars mit Zugang zu Bildung und psychosozialer Betreuung.

    (Foto: © Kaung Htet for Plan International)

  • Fast 4.500 Kinder bekommen nun Schulunterricht in Räumen, die mit neuen Tischen und Stühlen ausgestattet sind.

    (Foto: © Kaung Htet for Plan International)

  • Vor dem Beginn des Projektes fehlte den Kindern auch der Zugang zu sanitären Einrichtungen. Um die Hygiene zu verbessern, wurden 26 Handwasch-Stationen eingerichtet.

    (Foto: © Kaung Htet for Plan International)

  • Lehrer und Ehrenamtliche geben den Schülerinnen und Schülern Unterricht in Hygienefragen. Das reduziert häufige Durchfallerkrankungen – eines der wichtigsten Entwicklungshemmnisse für Kinder in armen Ländern.

    (Foto: © Kaung Htet for Plan International)

  • In der von andauernden Konflikten betroffenen Region Kachin wurden zehn kinderfreundliche Räume geschaffen, die den Kindern ermöglichen, ihren natürlichen Spieltrieb auszuleben. Dies fördert auch ihre kognitive Entwicklung und stärkt ihr Selbstvertrauen.

    (Foto: © Kaung Htet for Plan International)

  • Mädchen können sich im „Girls Club“ über geschlechterspezifische Fragestellungen austauschen. Auch ihre Brüder und Eltern werden für die Rolle der Frau in der Gesellschaft sensibilisiert.

    (Foto: © Kaung Htet for Plan International)

Hintergründe zur vergessenen humanitären Krise in Myanmar

Nach jahrzehntelangem Kampf um Demokratie und beinahe einem halben Jahrhundert Militärdiktatur, besitzt das ehemalige Burma seit April 2016 die erste zumindest teilweise zivile Regierung. Ab dem Putsch von 1962 war das ressourcenreiche und einst fortschrittliche Land von den Militärs zu einem der ärmsten Staaten der Erde heruntergewirtschaftet worden. Eine brutale Junta unterdrückte die Menschen und zerstörte Wirtschaft, Bildungs- und Gesundheitssystem. Trotz eines überwältigenden Wahlsieges der Nationalen Liga für Demokratie (NLD), bei den ersten freien Wahlen im November 2015, ist die Handlungsfähigkeit der Regierung eingeschränkt: Die Verfassung kann ohne Zustimmung der Generäle nicht geändert werden und sichert dem Militär eine Mehrheit in verschiedenen Ministerien. Da die NLD keine Handhabe über die Armee hat, sind ihr auch bei der Lösung des seit Jahrzehnten andauernden Bürgerkrieges im Vielvölkerstaat Myanmar die Hände gebunden. Das Militär unterdrückt seit dem Ende der britischen Kolonialherrschaft die Zivilbevölkerung, die mehr Recht auf Eigenständigkeit fordern. Zusätzlich verschärft wird die Lage durch anhaltende Kämpfe zwischen dem Militär und den bewaffneten Fraktionen, ethnischer Minderheiten. Die bekannteste dieser Minderheiten sind die Rohingya, gegen die das Militär seit der Unabhängigkeit Myanmars mehr als 19 Großoffensiven durchführte.

weiterlesen...

Fünf Fakten, die du über Myanmar wissen solltest

Bei Myanmar denken viele zuerst an goldene Pagoden. Manche kennen auch Friedensnobelpreisträgerin Aung San Suu Kyi, die 15 Jahre unter Hausarrest stand. Aber wusstest Du schon, dass

weiterlesen...