Somalia

For a Future without Hunger

After the famine of 2011, Somalia is once again threatened by catastrophe. Nearly three million people are suffering from hunger. Malnutrition is rising, especially with children. An estimated 363,000 children below five years of age are severely malnourished; 71,000 of them so severely that they are in danger of falling ill or dying. Najla was abandoned on the roadside by her biological mother when she was three days old. She was rescued by a well-wisher who took her in and gave her a home for four months. The family was struggling to take care of Najla as they didn’t have any stable source of income. That is when she was identified by SOS Children’s Village Mogadishu as a child in need. “Baby Najla was very small when she came in. I remember how I quickly had to learn to handle my new small baby,” says Najla’s SOS mother Hajiyo.

 

Read more...

How SOS Children’s Villages is Helping the Forgotten People in Somalia

SOS Children’s Villages has been working in Somalia since 1985. It was one of the few organizations not to leave the country during the many years of civil war, but instead stood by the people even under the most difficult of circumstances. SOS Somalia is currently on site in Mogadishu and Baidoa. SOS Children’s Villages is also active in the autonomous and much more stable region of Somaliland, which lies to the northwest of the country and declared its independence in 1991. Today, Somalia has one SOS Children’s Village, a youth program, a kindergarten, a primary and secondary school, a nursing college, a medical center, a clinic and a community-based family support program. The SOS Children’s Village in Mogadishu was the central hub for SOS emergency relief during the famines in 1991 and 2011. The new SOS program to strengthen families in Baidoa supports 200 families and 150 youth in establishing self-help structures.

How the UN World Food Programme is Helping the Forgotten People in Somalia

When the UN World Food Programme (WFP) first took up work in Somalia in 1967, it offered school lunch programs and fostered sustainable agriculture. In the past years, Somalia has been the setting of persistent violence, political instability and economic and climatic shocks. Far too often, the consequences have been hunger and malnutrition. In 2011, the country last managed to recover from a famine that had claimed over 250,000 lives. But the situation is currently escalating again: Due to the drought at the Horn of Africa, nearly 3 million Somalis are currently suffering severe hunger and urgently require humanitarian aid. Another 3.3 million people require assistance to prevent the famine from spreading to them as well.

Read more...
  • Najla from Somalia was abandoned on the roadside by her biological mother when she was three days old.

    Photo: On Screen Productions / Kevin Ouma

  • People’s lives here are marked by a lack of food, drinkable water, and medical care.

    Photo: SOS/Katharina Ebel

  • Dire poverty marks the everyday lives of many families and their children.

    PHoto: SOS/Katharina Ebel

  • Microcredits offered by the SOS Family Strengthening Program enable poor families to set up tiny businesses.

    Photo: Katharina Ebel

  • Standing in line to see the doctor: Women and their babies are waiting for medical treatment in front of the gates of the SOS Mother and Child Clinic in Mogadishu.

    Photo: On Screen Productions / Kevin Ouma

  • In an incubator at the SOS Mother and Child Clinic, premature babies can gather their strength.

    Photo: On Screen Productions / Kevin Ouma

  • Women in Somalia are in urgent need of medical care for themselves and their babies. They are provided this at the SOS clinic in Mogadishu.

    Photo: On Screen Productions / Kevin Ouma

  • A woman has arrived at the SOS Mother and Child Clinic in Mogadishu with great concern for her son.

    Photo: On Screen Productions/Kevin Ouma

  • Does this baby weigh enough or does it need more nutrition? One of the SOS employees at the Mother and Child Clinic in Mogadishu is examining just that.

    Photo: On Screen Productions/Kevin Ouma

  • In the SOS Mother and Child Clinic in Mogadishu, mothers and their babies receive care before and after birth.

    Photo: On Screen Productions/Kevin Ouma

  • Newborns receive care at the SOS Mother and Child Clinic in Mogadishu. Just after coming into the world in Somalia, newborn babies such as this one receive their very first check-up in the medical center of SOS Children’s Villages in Mogadishu.

    Photo: On Screen Productions / Kevin Ouma

  • Photo: On Screen Productions / Kevin Ouma

  • A mother and her child visiting a nursing station of SOS Children’s Villages in Somalia.

    Photo: On Screen Productions / Kevin Ouma

  • Reconstruction in Baidoa: Families can create livelihoods for themselves with small businesses.

    Photo: Katharina Ebel

  • In Baidoa, 150 SOS youth are receiving vocational training in order to independently secure their future.

    Photo: Athman Wangara

  • Each year, 80 nurses and midwives are trained according to national standards at the SOS Mother and Child Clinic.

    Photo: On Screen Productions/Kevin Ouma

Background of the Forgotten Humanitarian Crisis in Somalia

The humanitarian crisis in Somalia cannot be traced back to just one root cause. Since the dictator Siad Barre was toppled in 1991, the country at the Horn of Africa has become the site of the longest lasting civil war in the world and the embodiment of a “failed state”. For years, none of the armed parties could gain the upper hand while nearly all state structures, especially in the health and education sector, were destroyed. In the meantime, an internationally recognized government has been put into place, but the consequences of the war and continuous terrorism by the Islamic Al-Shabaab militia (millions of refugees, poverty, malnutrition, illiteracy, and high child mortality rates) have been contributing to the lasting instability in the country.

Read more...

Somalia

Für eine Zukunft ohne Hunger

Somalia steht nach der Hungersnot 2011 erneut vor einer Katastrophe, fast 3 Millionen Menschen leiden Hunger. Gerade bei Kindern nimmt Mangelernährung zu. Schätzungsweise 363.000 unter 5-Jährige sind akut mangelernährt, 71.000 von ihnen so stark, dass ihnen Krankheit oder Tod droht. Najla wurde im Alter von drei Tagen von ihrer biologischen Mutter verlassen und am Straßenrand ausgesetzt. Sie wurde von einem Mann und seiner Familie gerettet. Vier Monate konnte der Säugling bei der Familie bleiben. Die Familie kämpfte sehr um das Wohlergehen von Baby Najla. Aber ohne festes Einkommen fiel es der Familie schwer, sie zu versorgen. Die Rettung für Najla war das SOS-Kinderdorf Mogadischu, wo sie heute lebt. „Baby Najla war sehr klein, als sie zu uns kam. Ich erinnere mich, wie schnell ich lernen musste, mit meinem neuen kleinen Baby umzugehen“, sagt Najla’s SOS-Mutter Hajiyo.

weiterlesen...

So helfen die SOS-Kinderdörfer den vergessenen Menschen in Somalia

Die SOS-Kinderdörfer sind seit 1985 in Somalia aktiv. Als eine von wenigen Hilfsorganisationen hat SOS das Land während des langjährigen Bürgerkriegs nicht verlassen, sondern hat den Menschen auch unter schwierigsten Bedingungen beigestanden. SOS Somalia ist gegenwärtig an den Standorten Mogadischu und Baidoa tätig. Zudem engagieren sich die SOS-Kinderdörfer in dem im Nordwesten gelegenen und weitaus stabileren Somaliland, das sich 1991 unabhängig erklärte. Heute gibt es in Somalia ein SOS-Kinderdorf, eine SOS-Jugendeinrichtung, einen SOS-Kindergarten, eine SOS-Hermann-Gmeiner-Schule, eine SOS-Krankenpflegeschule, ein medizinisches Zentrum, eine SOS-Klinik und ein gemeindebasiertes Familienstärkungsprogramm. Das SOS-Kinderdorf in Mogadischu diente als Ausgangspunkt für die SOS-Nothilfe während der Hungersnöte in den Jahren 1991 und 2011. Das neue SOS-Familienstärkungsprogramm in Baidoa unterstützt 200 Familien und 150 Jugendliche beim Aufbau von Selbsthilfestrukturen.

So hilft das UN World Food Programme den vergessenen Menschen in Somalia

Das UN World Food Programme hat seinen Hilfseinsatz in Somalia seit 2016 ausgeweitet und unterstützt die Menschen in Not über Schulmahlzeitenprogramme, Notrationen und spezielle Ernährungsprogramme für Kleinkinder, Schwangere und stillende Mütter. Das Land erholte sich zuletzt von der Hungersnot 2011, der mehr als 250.000 Menschen zum Opfer fielen. Doch aktuell verschlimmert sich die Situation wieder: Fast 3 Millionen Somalier leiden akut Hunger und benötigen aufgrund der schweren Dürre am Horn von Afrika dringend humanitäre Hilfe.

weiterlesen...
  • Najla wurde im Alter von drei Tagen von ihrer biologischen Mutter verlassen und am Straßenrand ausgesetzt..

    Foto: On Screen Productions / Kevin Ouma

  • Das Leben der Menschen ist von Mangel an Lebensmitteln, Trinkwasser und medizinischer Versorgung geprägt.

    Foto: SOS/Katharina Ebel

  • Bittere Armut zeichnet den Alltag vieler Familien und ihrer Kinder.

    Foto: SOS/Katharina Ebel

  • Die Mikrokreditprogramme der SOS-Familienstärkung ermöglichen armen Familien den Aufbau von Kleinstunternehmen.

    Foto: Katharina Ebel

  • Schlange stehen für einen Arztbesuch: Frauen warten mit ihren Babys vor den Toren der SOS-Mutter-Kind-Klinik in Mogadishu auf medizinische Versorgung.

    Foto: On Screen Productions / Kevin Ouma

  • Im Brutkasten der SOS-Mutter-Kind-Klinik in Mogadishu können Frühchen Kräfte sammeln.

    Foto: On Screen Productions / Kevin Ouma

  • Lebenswichtige Versorgung: In der SOS-Klinik in Mogadischu erhält dieses Kind eine Chance, die es sonst kaum irgendwo in Somalia hätte.

    Foto: On Screen Productions/Kevin Ouma

  • Frauen in Somalia benötigen dringend medizinische Versorgung für sich und ihre Babys. Diese erhalten sie in der SOS-Krankenstation in Mogadishu.

    Foto: On Screen Productions / Kevin Ouma

  • Eine Frau ist in großer Sorge um ihren Sohn in die SOS-Mutter-Kind-Klinik nach Mogadischu gekommen.

    Foto: On Screen Productions/Kevin Ouma

  • Wiegt dieses Baby genug oder braucht es mehr Nahrung? Das überprüft diese SOS-Mitarbeiterin in der Mutter-Kind-Klinik in Mogadishu.

    Foto: On Screen Productions/Kevin Ouma

  • In der SOS-Mutter-und-Kind-Klinik in Mogadishu werden Neugeborene versorgt.

    Foto: On Screen Productions/Kevin Ouma

  • Sie haben gerade erst das Licht der Welt in Somalia erblickt: Neugeborene wie dieses erhalten im medizinischen Zentrum der SOS-Kinderdörfer in Mogadishu die Erstuntersuchung.

    Foto: On Screen Productions / Kevin Ouma

  • In der SOS-Mutter-Kind-Klinik in Mogadishu werden Frauen und ihre Babys vor und nach der Geburt versorgt.

    Foto: On Screen Productions / Kevin Ouma

  • Eine Mutter besucht mit ihrem Baby die Krankenstation der SOS-Kinderdörfer in Somalia.

    Foto: On Screen Productions / Kevin Ouma

  • Wiederaufbau in Baidoa: Mit Kleinstunternehmen können Familien eine Existenz aufzubauen.

    Foto: Katharina Ebel

  • In Baidoa erhalten 150 SOS-Jugendliche eine berufliche Ausbildung, um sich selbstständig eine Perspektive aufzubauen.

    Foto: Athman Wangara

  • Jährlich werden in der SOS-Mutter-Klinik in Mogadischu 80 Krankenschwestern, Krankenpfleger und Hebammen nach nationalen Standards ausgebildet.

    Foto: On Screen Productions/Kevin Ouma

Hintergründe zur vergessenen humanitären Krise in Somalia

Die humanitäre Krise in Somalia kann nicht auf einen einzelnen Auslöser zurückgeführt werden. Das Land am Horn von Afrika ist, seit dem Sturz des Diktators Siad Barre 1991, Schauplatz eines der am längsten anhaltenden Bürgerkriege der Welt und wurde über die Jahre hinweg zum Inbegriff des „Failed State“. Da sich jahrelang keine der bewaffneten Fraktionen durchsetzen konnte, wurden fast alle staatlichen Strukturen, vor allem im Gesundheits- und Bildungsbereich, zerstört. Inzwischen gibt es zwar wieder eine international anerkannte Regierung, doch die Folgen von Krieg und dem anhaltenden Terrorismus des islamistischen al-Shabaab Miliz, (Millionen von Flüchtlingen, Armut, Unterernährung, Analphabetismus, sowie eine extrem hohe Kindersterblichkeit) tragen zur anhaltenden Instabilität des Landes massiv bei.

weiterlesen...

Fünf Fakten, die du über Somalia wissen solltest

Bei Somalia denken viele zuerst an Piraten und  an gekaperte Containerschiffe am Horn von Afrika. Darüber gibt es sogar einen Hollywoodfilm mit Tom Hanks: „Captain Phillips“. Aber wusstest Du auch, dass …

weiterlesen...

Somalia: Interview mit Ali Ahmed, Leiter der SOS-Nothilfeprogramme in Somalia

Drei Millionen Menschen – knapp ein Viertel der Bevölkerung Somalias – leiden aktuell unter akuter Lebensmittelknappheit. Laut Schätzungen der UN sind 363.000 Kinder unter fünf Jahren unterernährt, 71.000 davon fallen in die höchste Risikogruppe. Ein Interview mit Ahmed Mohamed, Leiter der SOS-Nothilfeprogramme in Somalia .

weiterlesen...